Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

1998 Land Cruiser HZJ75 Questions

Teflon

Country Flag
australia
Hey Guys,

First off, I live in Victoria, Australia, I'm new to Land Cruiser's but have been wanting a decent 4x4 plus something that I can tow with for a while, so I apologise in advance for my newbie questions.

I've been offered a 1998 Land Cruiser 75 Series with an aluminium tray for $5000. It's got 350,000 ks on the clock and has been according to the owner serviced at the local toyota dealer it's whole life (log books confirm this). It started life as a Parks Victoria car and he bought it with 40,000ks on it. Since then it has been just used as a daily commuter with some minor paddock work.
Its got a relatively straight body, with some paint wear on the bonnet but other then that it's pretty good. The front drivers seat needs replacing/fixing due to a major tear and the seatbelts are frayed. The roof lining is also coming down in one of the corners. The timing belt was replaced at around the 260,000k mark.
The guy is also going to throw in a set of sunraysia rims with tyres as well. The cars currently registered and used fairly regularly still with the owner stating no issues, but I'd want to get it roadworthy ASAP.

I guess my questions are:

1: Is it a good deal?
2: How much would it cost to repair what I have listed?
3: Are there any problems I need to know about this model/year?

Thanks in advance for your help,

Without seeing it sounds like a decent deal for a later model 75 series. Serviced at toyota is a plus, only if it was serviced regularly and things were replaced when it needed, it will go forever just not fast because its a na 1hz :)

Timing belt is due, see how it starts on a cold start, blowing smoke?, check injector pump if its leaking etc (can be costly). Go through all the gears and lock the hubs and test the 4WD is in working order.