Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

A beginner services the 80 series front axle

ByronJ

Country Flag
wales
Inspired by Chris's recent article on his front axle I decided it was time I serviced the front axle on my 1991 80 series. I read Andrew's very helpful thread 'Rebuilding the 80 series front axle' and on Sunday 16th of February 2014 started the job; yes I know a Sunday re-build is pushing the boundaries a bit but it was a big help that it was the second sunny day this year.

This axle was rebuilt at Overland Cruisers in July 2012 with new seals and bearings. In the 18 months since I have covered a little over 20, 000 miles, about 20% of that on bad roads / no roads. Nevertheless I was not expecting to find any problems other than needing to clean up and repack the knuckle with grease.

Although I am a beginner at this kind of stuff I found I was enjoying myself, even after it took me 45 minutes to remove a corroded split pin :icon-redface:. There are some questions sprinkled through this post. They are mainly there to remind me to investigate these things further but I would be very grateful if anyone cares to shed some light on them for me. In addition if I am doing things wrong then please feel free to point me in the right direction.

I was a little shocked when I removed the drain plug from the differential and nothing happened! Oh no! Was it running dry? Was it because I had left the wheels on :lol:? After a few seconds thick green gunk started to ooze out and eventually I had nearly 5 litres of muck in the pan. I guess the inner axle seals have failed? Ah well.

Contaminated diff oil.JPG

After a few hours dismantling my garage and car ended up looking like this.

Dismantled.JPG