Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

BJ/FJ40 Swivel shims

Jaguar12

Country Flag
great_britain
Hi All.
Recently rebuilt both front hubs on my BJ40. I have found that I need to re-shim the left one as there seems to be some play.
My question is ---- can I Swap shims in and out by simply removing one cap at a time without removing everything (brake back plate, stub,axle etc)
Any advice appreciated, Ian.

Hi Ian,

I have done it.
The truck was obviously on an axle stand but I also supported the stub axle on one too. I only needed to adjust the bottom and the most awkward bit was getting the bearing lined up to re-insert the shim pad. But no ill-effects and that was several thousand miles ago.
I would suggest that you get other opinions as I am an no expert, so the professionals may say that it is not good practice.

Regards

Hi Ian,

I have done it.
The truck was obviously on an axle stand but I also supported the stub axle on one too. I only needed to adjust the bottom and the most awkward bit was getting the bearing lined up to re-insert the shim pad. But no ill-effects and that was several thousand miles ago.
I would suggest that you get other opinions as I am an no expert, so the professionals may say that it is not good practice.

Regards
Great - many thanks for your reply. It will only require a minor shim so it shouldn't put the swivel housing far off centre so I will try for the bottom only - shouldn't really start a drive shaft oil leak.
I reckon it would be possible to do both but the top one would require removing the brake line which I don't really want to do.
All the best to you for your help. I will have to post in the 'Newbie' section and introduce myself ASAP - Ian.

Hi Ian,

It should only be grease in this section of the axle, if you get oil then the inner oil seal has gone walkabout!
I did the top one by releasing the caliper bolts and tying it up out of the way. But then again you may have drum brakes, so that wouldn't work!