black / airtop roof tents

Jon Wildsmith

Super Moderator
Supporter
Guru
Garage
Country Flag
england
As mentioned in the xmas list thread I haven't bought a tent for a while so I'm pondering tent choices and among the options are the autohome airtops of which there are white & black shell options. The black seems a lot less in your face than the white and given my preferance is for cold rather than hot climates I'm trying to work out how much hotter a black RT will be if I do find myself in the sun? BOAB prefer the white / off white wind up maggiolina's still rather than the gas strut air tops but that would get me what I had before just 15cm narrower and I'd like to get something else new to me for all that money :) Just thinking out loud so any comments you've heard about them or your experiences would be welcome but make it quick please :pray: because I'm not very good at holding fire once I've got an idea in my head :roll:

Jon
Are they fiberglass? my only reservations about black painted fiberglass is possible overcooking of the laminate and becoming brittle/ delaminating

They are 'marine grade' gel coated fiber glass and I *assume* they did enough testing to not worry about the materials degrading, they do have a good reputation for testing thoroughly first. I know how hot my car body gets in uk sun though so it is a concern.

Can't give you any advice about which one to get... all I can say is:

BUY BUY BUY :twisted:

shame to waste all the potential heat, maybe a hot water shower waiting to be built

:lol: very helpful Tony. I can manage that part :mrgreen: buying things is not something I have difficulties with, it's buying things I still want in a few months that seems to be the problem ;)

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
Julian said:
shame to waste all the potential heat, maybe a hot water shower waiting to be built

I had wondered about some pipes on top :lol: