Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

comfortable suspension

toolsplus

Country Flag
portugal
i'm going to buy some new shocks and springs for my 80. i have OME Nitro shocks and springs
had them for a coupla years now and i'm fed up with the harsh ride on the dirt
all i want is the most comfortable set up
any ideas lads?

cheers

EFS is a popular choice on the forum - I have no first hand experience though.

If your not lifting it i would say genuine toyota. If i didnt want a lift this is what i would of done.

If your not lifting it i would say genuine toyota. If i didnt want a lift this is what i would of done.

I'm with Mike on this. I replaced the springs and dampers with genuine on my original 80 at 140K and it transformed it to what it was when I bought it years before ( bit pricey though).
You might just get away with the larger tyres but I'd check. I had had 285's with 30mm wheel spacers and was just about ok.

I just swapped out my OME for a new set-up and credit my choice, which I’m pleased with, to two things: reading this thread to get a good understanding of different shock and spring options https://forum.ih8mud.com/threads/co...ponent-spec-thread-shocks-coils-more.1026595/; and properly matching my springs to the weight of the truck.

I matched Tourflex 3” HD dual rate springs with Iron Man Foam Cell Pro 4” shocks. I’m not saying this is the ‘best’ set-up in any way but I believe it was the best I could achieve for what I wanted and my budget.

The later 80's had softer suspension than the early ones. Mines a mid 1995 and hard so the change was sometime later. Perhaps borrow a 1997 chassis number and order accordingly.

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
thanks lads
i'm gona do a 2'' lift instead of 3'',go down to 33'' tyres from 35'' and put the antiroll bars back
it's very capable at the mo' but a harsh ride,'tippy' and always wants to readily oversteer