Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

do I ditch the split rims?

alexander

Supporter
Country Flag
wales
I did a search but couldn't see a thread on this.
My troopy has split rims, to be honest I never heard of them. So I've googled and read bad things, dangerous, fatalities etc. Scared the crap out of me!
So do I ditch then now? I have no experience of them so is it worth learning now, or just go orthodox steels?
Orrrr....alloys...or is that another question?
Chehrs,
Alex

There are pro's and cons to every thing, I quite liked split rims for the ease of repairing punctures, if you know what you are doing and you have the correct tools they are not anymore dangerous than what are now considered normal rims, imo obviously.

The disadvantage is that you can not use tubeless tyres as there is no way to seal them, by that I mean you have to have tubes which in turn means you should not run for extended periods of time with low air pressure as you may want to when off road or travelling on wash board roads.

The main factor you need to consider is how are you planning to use the vehicle before you decide what rims and tires to fit.

Something else to think about, if the split rim truly was as dangerous as it is made out to be it would have been banned by now surely.

Just my opinion ;)

depends what sort of split rims they are - the later ones that are bolted together (Hutchinson) are fine... in fact very expensive....

the steel type split rims - have a very bad write up - even tyre people handle pump ups of tyres in safety cages... look on u tube for examples.... a couple show how badly it can go wrong... but like everything in life - if done properly they are fine.

I need to understand how they work, and how to change a tire first hand I think. Then I'll know the pros and cons.
Cheers.

No black magic then, simple stuff. Tempting to just carry spare tubes and a tire rather than two wheels?

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them