Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Irish BJ40 Resto

Jim40

Garage
Country Flag
ireland
Hi everyone,

I've been encouraged to start a thread on my 40, so here goes...

I was tipped off about this 40 last year by a friend who knew that I was desperate for one. This truck was in a container, complete, but very rusty. However, it's an original Irish truck and local to me so I had to save it...

The plan is a complete nut and bolt rebuild, but I have a baby girl (Hi to all the Dads out there) so this could be a very long running thread.

I've finally got it down to a rolling chassis. I'm hoping to get the chassis blasted, repaired and painted before Christmas so that I can make a start at the rebuild in 2017.

I'm not a mechanic or a fabricator, and I'm much better at taking things apart than I am at putting them back together, so keep the expectations low.

Just a few pics to give you a flavour. Comments and abuse welcome.

Stage 3.JPG
Stage 6.JPG
IMG_5380.JPG

Best of luck with the build Jim, been on the hunt for a 40 (or a 60) for a while now, but they've gone crazy here for price in the last few years. Great to see a local truck being saved. what part of the country are you in?

Good luck Jim, hope your a young man !
Can't really see how bad/good your sheet metal is but there's a very useful guy on Ebay at the moment breaking 40's from Portugal and seems to have most things (smartshamu) he even has a stainless steel rear tub, having experience of repairing rusted panels it's cheaper in the long run to replace.
Crack on and keep us in the loop.
Bob

good luck Jim! I would love one of these :) keep up the good work :)

Hi Jim,

I shall follow the build with interest although I have to say your BJ doesn't look too bad as a starting point. You appear to have some, but not all, of the usual places where the rot shows but I am aware that photos can often be deceptive.