Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

landcruiser hand brakes !!!!!!!

rnaylor

Country Flag
australia
I love my 80 series cruiser but how the hell do i get the dam hand brake to work well constantly?????????? Just to add I don't think I'm a dick head I'm a mechanic with about 45 years of experience & I've never had any luck with cruiser H/brakes . I'm talking about cruisers with rear disc brakes with the H/brake shoes inside the disc rotor . We spend a lot of time in the Victorian high country during winter & a good hand brake is handy , I,m sick of use tree's as a hand brake . IS THERE A SOLUTION :)

Firstly welcome to the Forum, and yes there is many a solution and a quick search will lead you to more than one thread on this board about the trials, tribulations and woes of the handbrake on these fantastic vehicles, click this link for example DOGBONES.

And when you get a chance please do introduce yourself to us in the Lounge and tell us all about your truck, we are a friendly if slightly misunderstood crowd on this site and we love pictures and stories about these trucks and the trouble we get into with them.

I think the prob is that they dont have self adjusters. one improvement would be to fit a spliced cable, pulling direct to each hub to remove some of the slop. Other than that make sure all the components are moving free and take the adjusters in the hub well up and then add a few turns at the handbrake lever when its starting to feel sloppy again. If all else fails deploy the ground anchor.

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
Have ran into same problem with aftermarket shoes not being made to genuine standards and having to modified brackets to push completely out to drum. You can destroy good cables and brackets for cheap shoes.