Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Leaking sump on 100 series diesel !

Richard HEath

Country Flag
great_britain
Only 3 months ago I replaced the sump on our 120 series, I now find that the 100 series has the same problem, is this condition contagious and should I park them away from each other to avoid any other cross contamination !
Just wondered if any one else has had the same issue and what guidance you might have on sourcing a sump and degree of difficulty in carrying out the replacement!

Thanks to all those who helped me sort the previous issue, that being a total lack of power, turned out to be a blocked cat curred by fitting Milners decat pipe !

Thank you for your help

Best wishes

Richard

The sump on my fathers 100 has recently become porous..

Hi,

Did this a couple of years ago on the drive, got a new pan through Amayama, delivered from Japan with the import tax paid it was half what Mr T's was wanting.

I'm not a mechanic but will give anything a try, having said that i did wonder at one point if i'd bit off too much!
Took me 8 weeks but i was working away from home 6 days a week and having to fit in all the other commitments along with sneaking a few hours here or there.

Job, lift car as high as possible, place chassis on axle stands, front wheels off calipers off, seperate lower ball joints an pull out half shafts by lifting lower wishbones out of your way.
Front diff off a front drive shaft. mind diff breather pipe, i forgot!
Empty engine oil.
Slacken of steering rack, didn,t need to remove it, but the front set of bolts for the pan were quite obscured by it from memory. Need the wriggle room too to get the pan out as it snag on the oil lift pipe.
Get sump off, clean mating face on engine block.
Apply plenty of new gasket seal and put new pan in.
I ran the car for a bit before putting everything back together just to be certain it was sealed, but that's just me not trusting myself.
Put it all back together again.