Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Mechanic/garage recommendations around Sheffield or Yorkshire

DaanLC

Country Flag
great_britain
Hello!

First post here. Please move it if it's the wrong sub-forum...
I am a total newbie, I don't yet own a Landcruiser - in fact I have never bought a car yet in my life, but I am actively looking for an 80 series right now to prepare for an overland trip through Africa late next year.

I am based in Sheffield and don't really know what I am doing as I have no mechanics skills whatsoever, or any other useful skills that would prevent me from being shafted when buying a 2nd hand Landcruiser 80.

My current thinking is that I could go and see some Landcruisers that are advertised relatively nearby where I live, pretend I know what I am looking for and then take it to a mechanic or garage who can give it an actual look-over before I commit to anything. Assuming that that can even be done before buying.

So on to my question(s) then....
- Can anyone recommend a good garage/mechanic near Sheffield or in Yorkshire?
- Potentially, are there any reputable forum members near me who would be interested in helping me out, ie joining me when I go see a car (of course I would pay you)

FWIW, I'm not exclusively looking into an 80 series. I'm tempted by Prados/Colorados and Surf/4Runners as well.

Thank you!
Daan

I'm sure I could lend a hand and speaking for Andy, who's not at home just now, he'd help too I'm sure and has a ramp at his place in South Yorkshire. We've just sorted Des an 80 by fitting new suspension, rebuilding the front axle completely and fixing the brakes. We don't do this commercially - we just love Landcruisers. There are a couple of stickies at the top of the 80 section geared toward what to look out for in an 80.