Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Moving from US to Germany

Beau Diddly

Country Flag
germany
I currently own a '94 & '97 80-series in the US, 3x locked, OME lifted. I'm active in the South Carolina IH8Mud.com community and the Old North State chapter as well. I expect to move to Germany (Rheinland-Pfalz) in April and would like some advice on purchasing a Land Cruiser (I will not bring mine from the US).
  • I'm leaning toward an 80-series or 100-series Land Cruiser, but I have to admit I have an eye for the Mercedes G-Wagon (only the newer ones are available in the US, so they are overpriced).
  • Given the price of fuel in Europe, I'd like to go with a diesel that has better fuel economy.
  • I'd like to get one that is around 21 to 23 years old so I can bring it back to the US when I come home. Vehicles over 25 years old are much easier to import.
  • I will most likely use the vehicle as a daily driver, I don't know where I will live but I will probably have a commute of no more than 20 minutes. I intend to use it for expeditions and mild off-roading.
  • Are there any clubs or organization for off-roading or expeditions?
I appreciate any and all advice.

Welcome aboard BD, and good luck with the move to Germany.

You'll know better when you get there, but I've found prices for LCs in Europe generally to be much higher than the UK, but of course I don't know how either compare with the US.

You will not find petrol engine LC's even you want to , maybe a hand full of them are left in all Europe.
a very good 80 series can set you back about 20k+ euro. But I am talking about one that you drive from the dealer straight around Africa, in top shape, and great looks.
There are 2 sites where you can find cars from all over EU.

https://www.autoscout24.de/
https://www.mobile.de/