Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Need help! Bought a HZJ75RV.. now what?!

dram84

Country Flag
netherlands
Hi team,

Redently added a '92 HZJ75RV with 64k on the clock to the family. Bought at auction, but reason to believe it used to be a NSW rural people carrier for the fire dept, hence low km's(?). I'm completely new to 4x4, troopy's etc so I thought I'd turn to (what appears to be) a group of very knowledgeable enthousiasts :)

First step for me would be to make sure that the car as is, is mechanically sound. What would you check/have checked first?

Secondly, I understand the engine can be fitted with a turbo, but also read something about damaging piston heads if the turbo is too strong? What would be a good turbo for it?

Lastly, what things would you do to it to make it a bit more "driveable" keeping in mind we plan on using it both on and offroad?

Of course any other advice is super welcome!! Thanks, Dan

Some images:

Screenshot_20180330-110141.png
Screenshot_20180330-110145.png
Screenshot_20180330-110137.png
Screenshot_20180330-110132.png
Screenshot_20180330-110118.png
Screenshot_20180330-110114.png
Screenshot_20180330-110118.png
Screenshot_20180330-110206.png Screenshot_20180330-110152.png

Hi Dan,
Nice find!
I sold my troopy last year.
From where in holland are you, I could give you some hints for parts and knowledgeable mechanics.
I'm also member of the dutch land cruiserclub. https://www.landcruiser-club.nl/. They do weekends,travelling, mechanic courses and more.

Hi Dan,
Nice find!
I sold my troopy last year.
From where in holland are you, I could give you some hints for parts and knowledgeable mechanics.
I'm also member of the dutch land cruiserclub. https://www.landcruiser-club.nl/. They do weekends,travelling, mechanic courses and more.

Hey, thanks a lot! I actually live in AU now, if I ever bring the car back to Europe I'll be sure to join the club, thanks :)

Hi Dan -welcome