Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

new Birf/CV choices - FZJ80 97

thelal

Country Flag
ireland
Have Birfs I need to change out as clicking on turns
See several options availailble (OEM, RCV, Longfields, Milners, Hdn- Chinese?)
Anyone got practical options
Thanks

Been hotly debated many times.
You can't beat OEM. But they're eye wateringly expensive.
HDK? I'd rather drive a Landrover than ever touch another one of those.
Longfield doesn't exist anymore. They were bought out.
I'd consider the ones from Roughtrax.
Someone got some SKF ones I seem to remember.
And somewhere (might be the SKF) there's some grease able ones.

I sold another kidney, went OEM.

I wasted a lot of money on some Trail Gear CVs and shafts (I’d previously broken a shaft) but the CVs didn’t last long and they were almost OEM prices.

Every day a school day.

I’ve no experience with roughtrax

Do you have leaking hub seals, if so maybe the cv grease has been washed out due to diff oil contamination. Could be worth giving the OEM ones a wash out and regress ? Obviously you will need to replace the half shaft seals if this is the case

Cheers

That won't really stop the clicking. That's mechanical wear. What I have seen done, is reversing of the CVs. Where cash is really tight, you can swap left to right so that the wear is opposite.

With OEM CVs, having looked at a fair few, clicking shouldn't mean immanent failure. Yes they click on full lock, but they still give drive in a straight line. I wouldn't say this about an aftermarket one necessarily, but I can't recall actually having ever seen a fully failed OEM CV. Not saying it doesn't happen, but generally catastrophic failures are cheaper units.

Of course I'd change them, but I wouldn't rush to like I would if I found splits in my timing belt.

It's only a guess but I'd suggest that it's the casing that wears and the birdcage too probably rather than the ball bearings. It' a shame you can't get them rebuilt.