Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

New LC Addict

Saltydog235

Country Flag
united_states
Well, maybe not a new one since I'm on my third. Sold a 2005 100, put the wife in a 2013 200 (funny, she won't let me take that one to the hunt club). Just bought a '99 100 for a toy and to go to the hunt club.

I might ask some stupid questions from time to time or even one with merit. Hopefully, the search function works though and I can just read and learn from the more knowledgeable crowd.

OK, first question. Got a guy that is making me a bumper, sort of like a Blueberry but not quite. Going to mount a Warn on it but what size. Normally, I'm a bigger is better type but, it 12K too big? 10K just right? I'm not going to be in the rocks, more like stuck in a swamp or Carolina bay.

Welcome Salty. Cant answer your question mate as I am new to LC's myself. Someone will be along (when the UK wakes up) and will help you I am sure.
Geoff

Hi Mate in regards to the Winch question, It may depend on the strength of the Cradle its attached to. My TJM bar is only rated to take the load a 9000lb winch can produce. I went 12000lb anyway . Best talk to the guy whos building the Bar I guess. What happened to the pics?

Welcome aboard Salty:thumbup:

As for the winch, I’d go for the biggest brute you can best afford.

Whatever it’s rating, you’ll only be pulling the load that’s applied, so on average that will be low, just enough to get you out of the occasional embarrassing moment, as it were.

The time (hopefully never) when you’d wished you’d gone for a bigger one, will be when you’re really bogged and there’s no other choice.

It’s a good point made about the rating of the cradle, but when it’s all or nothing, you just want to get the truck free.