Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

New to me ... 1999 l/c performance questions

straycatboat

I just purchased a lighty used ( 35000 miles ) family owner 1999 LC.
My previous ride was a 1974 fj40.
This vehicle is completely different in ride and power and wouild like to get the members suggestions on how to make some improvements.

First, the handling is clumsy and the vehicle rolls and yaws over bumps and in turns, seems like the suspension is super plush.
I would like to make it more precise with out sacrificing the comfort a lot like on long highway runs.

Second, the engine / transmission is sluggish , needs more ponies. How can I get the engine performance up.. chip, turbo, supercharger?
My other vehicle is a Titan 4 x4 Pickup and it handles and performs much better than the LC/ :?
Help

Hi, and welcome to the site.

I have a 2001 100-Series 'VX', 4.2 litre diesel, automatic, with 122,000 miles on the clock. I've not had it long and I'm still learning about it.

I also have a 1998 LWB '90-Series' Colorado, manual gearbox, with the 3.0 litre diesel. It has 135,000 miles on it.

I was expecting the Amazon to have a lot more performance than the Colorado as its got 201 bhp against the Collie's 133 bhp. In practice the Amazon is a slug and is the most disappointing thing I have driven. Its very comfortable though and is so plush inside I won't want to chuck my chainsaws into the back.

The Amazon has the Automatic Height Control (AHC) suspension and I don't notice it rolling. I suspect your earlier model doesn't have that. Both have (I believe) torsion bar front suspension with a live rear axle with coils and trailing control arms.