Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Newbie Advice Please

Emma_WA

Hello all. I am completely new to the world of Landcruisers and very out of my depth. Hoping you all may be able to share a little of your knowledge and perhaps be kind enough to answer some questions. Looking to buy a secondhand Landcruiser (max $15,000-$20,000 AUD). We live in Perth, Australia but will be moving up to Broome for a year. Will use the Landcruiser as a second car for the next 6 months (city driving, hubby 20 min commute to work). Next year will be our primary car in Broome. Hope to do moderate off roading, no heavy towing. Obviously the cars we are loooking at (in our price range) are 15-20 years old, with quite high mileage. Any good reason to go for Diesel over Petrol? (Seem to be able to get a newer, lower mileage Petrol for similar price as an older higher mileage Diesel)? Are the Diesel's less likely to have problems at that age / mileage? Should we prioritise age over mileage (or vice versa)? Should we avoid the Prado or would it do the job for us? And how important is it that the car has been regularly serviced? I'd be very grateful for any advice you may be able to offer, Thanks so much

Welcome Emma. The consensus on Cruisers is that overall condition and maintenance is everything. Age and mileage mean very little. My ‘98 is steadily approaching 200k miles with no major work done to it. That is nothing compared to some of the trucks on here.

Have you got a model in mind? I envy your choice. If I were you I’d have a look at the 105 which is not generally available over here.

Welcome Emma. The consensus on Cruisers is that overall condition and maintenance is everything. Age and mileage mean very little. My ‘98 is steadily approaching 200k miles with no major work done to it. That is nothing compared to some of the trucks on here.