Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

VIN PLATE IDENTIFICATION

Christian Kenny

Country Flag
uk
Hi.
Newbie here.
I have a BJ73 250td with a VM engine which I have just purchased in Ibiza.
It was built in Portugal.
I am trying to work out the year of the model in order to try and find parts which is a challenge.
Any help you can offer would be appreciated.

Also does anyone know if I can remove the tops of the rear doors and windows to make the truck a convertible?

Christian
ba9316a2-c3c4-45cd-86db-e241d34b835a.JPG
IMG_0633.jpg

Hi Christian and welcome.
Your BJ73 was built in February 1989 and the rear door windows and frames should be removable but I don't know how easy that may be.
Hope that helps

Regards,
Rodger

Nick Ould at Euro 4x4 parts knows these vehicles well. He's always a good place to start. I'm getting to know the 4 cyl engine pretty well... I'm on my second VM powered BJ73.

The rear windows are easy to remove. Use long 12mm sockets if you can. Bolts are hidden behind round rubber/plastic bungs.

Same with front doors.

First time removing FRP top is a pain. There are four bolts iirc inside the long cill under the window. theyre awkward to get at and everyone i know who has ever taken the top off has never refitted these bolts. all the others are easy to get to. there are bolts hidden behind the plastic FRP top plate on the main pillar between front door windows and rear windows.

congrats... looks like a nice truck

Welcome to the club Christian. :thumbup:

Nice 70 you have bought there! :clap:

Can you post a pic of the vin number, it will be stamped on the chassis inside one of the front wheel arches.

We can identify age with that. :icon-biggrin:

Regarding removing the window tops, not all 73's and 74's had the removable door tops. Most here in Australia never had that as an option (a few did, but its very rare) maybe Portuguese built ones are different. :ugeek: