Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Yet ANOTHER 100 Series Draw Build - All Advice Welcome Please

CountryBoy136

Country Flag
south_africa
Oops... as still a comparative novice here, seems I may have initially posted the following thread in the wrong forum... so forgive me but reposting here as more appropriate...

So, with December almost upon us and hopefully some time off to potter... started final planning for a rear drawer storage system for my 100 series. I'd say from the outset that this is not intended as a hard core expedition storage system, but instead drawing from my own experience of these vehicles as an ideal compromise between sport/leisure and family getaway truck whilst still retaining civilised road manners as an urban daily driver.

One things sorely lacking in these vehicles is secure 'boot' storage, which is where any drawer systemimmediately comes in handy, but additionally I wanted to incorporate a hidden secret compartment for valuables which could be more securely stored for peace of mind even if the vehicle is broken into and rifled. Obviously, this shortens the available drawer space, but this is a compromise I am happy to live with.

I'd like to have two compact storage compartments accessible from the front of the vehicle, as will be the hidden compartment, behind and accessed through the back of the front facing compartment. Two hinged wings, possibly split into two sections each, and two rear opening drawers then, one shorter than the other, both mounted on full extension 100kg sliders with lock stops. The top deck will be finished with a motor car floor carpet to be hard wearing and to conceal the joint between units and hinged components.