Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Automatic going into Low Range but not locking centre diff, Intermittent.

AustralianSon338

Hi all, has anyone had this kind of fault before?

I had driven down a range including one ridiculously steep and shailey hill and then when I got to the bottom of it the Bloody Difflock light turned out. Initially I was thinking that the dashlight had just blown or something but quickly realised as I began driving up this hill and the front wheels began to spin that the centre diff was no longer locked. I could'nt get it to lock and as such after about 6 goes I resigned myself to the fact that I had to flog the shit out my truck to get up this bloody hill. Poor thing was limiting at 5300 RPM or so. I normally just like crawling at 2400 RPM type thing as Im a nancy boy driver.:lol: Not really I'm just not a fan of flogging them to get up hills.
So after getting up the hill I continued shooting and had turned the truck off for a shot and then about 10 minutes later, started the truck back up and hey presto the bloody difflock light was on!:icon-evil:

I Was moving it this morning for a wash and thought I would do a quick check to see if it was still failing and as I moved the lever to low range the difflock light came on but then turned off almost immediately and I could hear the relay under the dash clicking on and off. My guess is possibly a switch thats utilised with the low range lever playing up. I know absolutely nothing about these trucks boys but am a diesel fitter so speak as plainly as possibly if you have the info. Very keen to fix this issue as the truck is Fkn useless as a 4WD without the centre lock. Bloody wheel spinning everywhere! Its a Petrol 4.5L GXL.

Thanks in advance!:pray::pray: