Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Bosch oil filter or Toyota?

Rob

Garage
Well my 80 needs a service soon and I have just looked on http://www.carparts4less.co.uk and found that they do a Bosch oil filter for £7.14 with free delivery. Now I'm no fan of cheap filters and previously I could not find any decent ones online so always bought Toyota. The Bosch one has a none return valve like to Toyota so (opening a can of worms here :cool: ) is the Toyota one worth the extra money?

I have been using the Bosch filters on my colorado for about 10 years now and not a problem. Bosch are a good brand!

I would recommend a genuine fuel filter as I have looked inside the genuine one and the other brands, and you can see the difference in filtration as well as weight. :thumbup:

No definitely not Boschi, would never fit one of those.

An OE filter may be more expensive but considering how often you change them, IMO, they are worth it, no question. With an OE you know for sure that they are up to spec.

Bosch is not exactly a brand know for sub-standard parts, also the Toyota one delivered is about 3 times the price...

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
The t0yota filter actually contains two filter elements, one for full flow and one by-pass. And therefore also two valves, one check valve and one by-pass valve.
I suggest opening up one t0yo and one bosch to see the difference.

Here is a schematic drawing of the original t0yo filter, and how it connects with the bigger picture:
(the filter housing is the dot-dash-line)
6792115659_d59749c7f6_z.jpg

Rob, obviously there is something of a trade-off here - without testing them properly, I would hold the view that the OEM filter is superior to the Bosch. However if you're doing routine (<5000 mile) oil changes and you're not planning any dusty overland routes or using low grade (high Sulphur) diesel then the oil won't be under too much strain and the Bosch should be fine.