Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Engel MT17F as a console fridge

Hello!

Yes this is doable
Once I get my stuff togehter, I will do a similar thing.
But I will probably use a SnoMaster unit.

I rented a LC79 DC in South Africa in February & it had a another make for their centre console fridge.
Very neat indeed. I can dig out the name if needed :)

I have a small Snomaster between the front seats of my Troopy makes a fantastic armrest

Last edited:
It came to me now; In he bespoke LC79, we had an INDEL cooler. Worked quiye well for keeping them bottles of water etc cool whiles driving

Not sure about that one Simon, but a member has done a similar mod with a Dometic here:-
https://www.landcruiserclub.net/community/posts/1409406/
Thanks Rich, yes I looked at the Waeco/Dometic CDF 11 and CDF 16 and of the two, the 16 has more room in it as the CDF 11 loses space due to those cup holders and so the 16 becomes the better option for the same space. However, I'm intrigued by the Engel as an option - there just aren't many of them in the UK which makes it tougher.

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
It came to me now; In he bespoke LC79, we had an INDEL cooler. Worked quiye well for keeping them bottles of water etc cool whiles driving
I've not heard of Indel Peter but I think when I was in Cape Town, they showed me one in the National Luna range. I may look at what Indel has in terms of models for console fridges.
The Engel is a bit bigger than the Waecos but I've used Engel in the desert and so trust them. The Danfoss compressors are great [a have an NL Weekender in the back] but Engel apparently uses a swing motor compressor which is more efficient. I've also heard that danfoss compressors can cause a bit of RF interference - which the Engel doesn't. Snomasters don't seem very efficient in comparison to the Engel.
I also don't want to adjust the seats at all - it will need to go straight in.