Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

thoughts on this 80?

paulm

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/ ... uyersGuide

could anyone give me some advise on what to look out for on this cruiser please?

i've spoken to the owner - theyre saying the only problem is to do with the front diff - apparently it is the wrong gearing for the auto (are manuals and auto's different?) so theyve been using it primarily in 2wd. I thought these were permanent 4wd?

only the centre diff lock is working - are the others cheap to fix?

im new to this landcruiser lark so any hints/tips are most welcome :)

I'd walk away at that price with those question marks...

You could check in with Karl Wester on prices for diffs but usually these ars sold as part of the axle...

From what they say, the front diff is kaput & to keep it moving they've dropped the prop shaft off the front, locked up the centre diff to get drive out of the rear wheels. I had to do this when my front prop screwed up recently - 2 wheel drive is ace!!!!

If the tailgate is rusting badly, you'll need to get that seem to quickly - once they start, they go quickly as I have learned to my cost... :oops:

It wouldn't be for me this one - the ad is far from fair if it has the problems mentioned

IMHO

thanks Gav,
as said I'm new to all this 4x4 lark, so i didnt really understand all that was being said - i think i'll go and have a look tomorrow and hopefully it will make more sense - i'm not too bad with the spanners, but having only worked on fwd hatches i'm not too sure how complex replacing diffs will be!
although he did say the problems only arose after the ad was put up, so there's bound to be room for negotiation on the price!

paulm said:
i've spoken to the owner - theyre saying the only problem is to do with the front diff - apparently it is the wrong gearing for the auto (are manuals and auto's different?) so theyve been using it primarily in 2wd. I thought these were permanent 4wd?