Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

What is this?....

larryseaman

Country Flag
england
Hi all, I'm still learning way around my Colorado/ Prado 95 series 1KZTE 3.0L diesel truck (1999 with 252,000 miles) so forgive me for this question as a non qualified 'mechanic'!

I've just finished changing the water pump (including backing), timing belt (including tensioner & pulley) & air-con idler pulley in the hope of solving a whining noise coming from the engine bay. These things needed changing anyway, but the noise seems to still be there.

Maybe someone can advise of what else may be causing that? I'm pretty sure it's not the power steering as it only whines when I press the accelerator, not when I turn the steering wheel.

Anyway, I also came across this which sits just under the timing belt cover and wondered what it was (see photo). Can anyone advise on that also please do I can determine if that's involved in the whining?

Thanks in advance.

20240427_113438.jpg

Have you tried runnng the cold engine without the aux belt for a few seconds and seeing if the noise is still there? It its not then its likely something attached to the aux belt which you havent changed yet.

Also you can (carefully) use long screwdriver or a stethoscope to try and narrow down where the noise is coming from

Is that the aircon pump/compressor whatever ?

WD-40 on all your belts just to see if the whine stops temporarily , sometimes they just wear in such a way that they aren't running true .

A split air pipe can make some odd noises , took me forever and sounded like screaming demons were eating my turbo before i finally worked out the noise was caused by a split at the bottom of crank breather pipe .

Hope your not hearing diff whine , something I have fortunately never experienced but its been talked about many a time on here .