Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Wirring whooshing sound !

ted heath

Hello Im new to this so be gentle !
I have a 1999 Amazon VX shod with BFG All Terrains only part worn and for some time have been aware of this whirring whooshing sound that becomes audible at around 50 mph. I thought front wheel bearings so changed those no change other than shorter break pedal. The ex toyota guy reccons it tyre noise Im not convinced. We are going to France on Friday so could do without any dramas en route. Further investigation on your excellent site sugests it could be related to UJs on the either of the props. Can you advise firstly this is the likeley cause and secondly if a failure occurs will we be dissabled.
Looking forward to your thoughts and thank you

Ted

Hi and welcome
It 'Could' be tyre noise, but I would have thought it more noticeable when the tyres were new and a bit more chunky? If you have done the bearings, cant be them, is everything that should be greased greased underneath?
Bring your waterproofs, hell wet suit, if you come to France! Its 'orrible!!!!!!

Thanks Steve
its pretty crap here to, all is thouroghly greased and on prety close inspection there is very little slack in the prop ujs I should add its only done 160 k miles so I dont aticipate to many majors.
As far as the weather goes "even if its raining in the valley its always snowing on the mountain!" lets hope !
Thanks again
Ted

Guessing spindle bearings. That's a whirring woshing sound - when the drive shaft starts wearing the brass bushing instead of the needle roller bearing.
Easy to check - just take the c-clip off and push the drive shaft in a bit, and look at the back of the hub. The shaft should look clean and greased, with clear traces of the bearing rollers in the grease. If good, give it a bit more grease before pushing it back in (or towards the outside, rather).