Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

You're driving home for Christmas......

Now I could be mistaken, but I was under the impression that modern cars are designed to separate into sections and/or crumple easily so that the forces endured in the crash aren't as sudden as just stopping dead and is the reason why (in a high speed crash at least) they are much safer than a big 4x4 such as a landcruiser.
A landcruiser is so sturdy that the chassis is unlikely to deform or bend so all stopping forces are transferred to the driver resulting in death or serious injury, whereas newer cars deform and split on purpose to slow down more gradually.
So although it looks like it's a messy wreck it has in fact done its job.

I do have a problem with people not wearing seatbelts.

I've been a nurse for 24 years, the last 12 of those in A&E. I deal with the consequences on a daily basis and I don't want to have to deal with your family when you've been killed in a survivable accident because you were stupid enough to believe you were safer without a seatbelt.

Seatbelts save lives, fact, no discussion, no debate and no evidence to the contrary. In very very very rare occasions someone may survive a crash that would have otherwise been fatal by not wearing one, but that is so rare as to be beyond calculation. If you believe not wearing a seatbelt will save you then you are either deluded, stupid or both and you probably also think the world is flat.

Seatbelts do cause certain ppotentially fatal fatal injuries, but the magnitude of force in those crashes is such death was inevitable anyway.

Generally being ejected from a vehicle is the worst thing that can happen in a crash. The vehicle will protect you if your in it, if your out of it then it will probably kill you

A casual surf of youtube will show any number of accidents where people have been ejected in accidents, many of which are fatal.