Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Another 80 front axle rebuild

Chris

Super Moderator
Supporter
Garage
Country Flag
great_britain
Just worth posting for those yet to experience the thrill that is an 80 front axle rebuild. It's like Christmas morning, you unwrap layer by layer until you get to the surprise in the middle. Or in this case, exactly what you'd expected because it's the same as every other 80 you've worked on.

This sort of evidence tells you there's trouble ahead.

I'm guessing they didn't have a 54mm socket then? Still nice that they'd managed to do them finger tight, eh?
Screen Shot 2017-11-15 at 18.33.41.jpg

I'm not an expert, oh no, but I'm sure that there's supposed to be some greasy stuff packed in here?

Screen Shot 2017-11-15 at 18.35.46.jpg

It might be what's caused this -

Screen Shot 2017-11-15 at 18.37.21.jpg

and this shocking corrosion ..

Screen Shot 2017-11-15 at 18.45.58.jpg

Never mind, with some love and care it's now looking like this -

Screen Shot 2017-11-15 at 18.38.15.jpg

And the graveyard bucket is filling up nicely

Screen Shot 2017-11-15 at 18.39.37.jpg

If you have been affected by this and other threads then please call maintenancecrimestoppers on 8428 62789 (thats nasty) and pledge £3 per month to stop this happening to other poor vehicles.

I've got a very similar pile of bit's in my garage.....original CV's by the look of it.
Mine did 170k before they needed a rest .

Not looked at them forensically yet, so they might be, but they were utterly buggered. So much slop it was untrue, but if the ARE genuine, then someone must have been in there and stolen all the grease, wiped the inner swivel clean and put them back.

The other side looked like this ..

Screen Shot 2017-11-15 at 22.10.55.jpg

Only reason I say genuine is the pink/purple paint on the end.........mine I know were Original and had the same paint

I've got a very similar pile of bit's in my garage.....original CV's by the look of it.