Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Heating Fan - 1986 13BT

jdlsalle

Country Flag
canada
Hi,

I'm really new at this, so bare with me.

I have a 86 Landcruiser, desiel, 13BT engine. My heating fan is not strong enough in the winter time to defrost my windshield when it hits -30C. Only when I'm on the highway will it defrost, but it takes a long time. Does anyone know where I can get a stronger fan? or if anyone knows an alternative?

thanks,
Josh

Do you have a thermostat fitted?

Sounds like its stuck in the open position - does the truck temp heat up ok in the winter?

Pete

Just to add, Ive never been anywhere that has been -30, even Norway wasnt that cold!

Yes.

It heats up great in the winter, but anything colder than -20C the fan takes a long time to defrost my windshield. The problem is that is doesn't blow hard enough, even when I have it cranked on high.

Josh

During the winter I get -20C for at least 2 months during the winter.

So basically the blower isn't powerful enough to get the hot air out, but the hot air is hot enough?

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
-20 for 2 months?

You dont need a better heater, you need to move to somewhere warmer !

Do you use a block heater overnight, to keep everything warm?

You are putting the lever to recirculate?

Pete

Yes and yes. I can have a Blocker heater. It works very well, but when I start driving, my windshield gets all fogged up, even when I've been driving for 5 mins.

The fog x is for the inside. The rain x is outside but not great on wind shield imo.
The company is rain x and make both products if that makes sense!!

Maybe the blower motor and controls are on their way out. The different power settings for the fan usually incorporate some resistors which could be suspect. How difficult is it to remove and cleanout the fan and service the motor?

Is there any smell of antifreeze when you have the heater on?

I'm wondering if the misting up is antifreeze vapour.