Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Tuning the KZ-TE

jeepmadmike

After my truck died, self healed and then died again I started digging into the electronics and they're purpose on the pump.

Its all actually quite simple, in comparison to a common rail oil burner (I'm an electrical engineer so my simple might not be everyone's!)

anyway while hunting on the web for diagrams and info I found a ozzy surf forum which had a thread involving tuning:icon-biggrin: , I've always been a fan of "turning up the pump" on old school engines and TBH if your not silly you don't have any issues (my camper runs a bit hotter when pushed hard for example, but that's another story)

So on the side of the pump there are 2 resistors (referred to as correction resistors) which mrT fits to tell the ECU what timing and fuelling correction is required.
the Ozzy's say the pump timing is retarded to improve the NOX emissions, but this reduces power and burns more fuel:icon-rolleyes:

now I've been experimenting with a variable resistor on the timing ECU input and OMG its a changed truck much more torque and the turbo spins up quicker, it's interesting on wet roundabouts :icon-cool:

I will tell more once I learn more!

Come on its been 6 hours, how long are we expected to wait... Lol :think:

sounds very interesting.

Sounds interesting for the older KZ owners.

Not sure any of them would welcome the higher temperatures though.
Little bit fickle, is the KZ to temperature.

Gra.

Running a tunit box with my KZ-TE works amazingly with bags more torque and turbo comes in a lot sooner hence keeping the revs down = better fuel consumption too, just like glorified variable resistors in a way.
Will be interesting to see what you find out.

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
Been for a play with it again this evening- driven the same roads at standard settings and mildly tweaked