Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

winch advice

roy

Country Flag
scotland
i am looking for advice on what sort and size of winch would good for a lwb colorado ?

it is not going to be used regularly so need it to be relaible to just use as and when needed.

i am going to make a mount/bumper so want to get the winch first and size the mount from that.

any help as i have no experience with winches.

cheers roy

No question. Goodwinch. TDS 9500i Goldfish. With Dyneema rope pack added.

Waits for incoming fire .......... :violence-swords:

Chris

they're pretty hard to argue against from a value point of view

was marshalling at the Mad Monks winch challenge this weekend- all of the teams were running Goldfishes as centre winches, and one or two had them as rear winches- and these things gets abused- lots of mud and water, and a LOT of use.

of course if you want performance you're looking at a warn 8274, but they will easily cost you 3-4 times the price- and tha'ts before you start on the gigglepin upgrades (and yes a fully upgraded gigglepin winch with twin motors, upgraded main shaft etc will cost you over £4.5k eeek!)

Chris said:
No question. Goodwinch. TDS 9500i Goldfish. With Dyneema rope pack added.

Waits for incoming fire .......... :violence-swords:

Chris

All I would add to that is do not get one without the "bridge", then you can remote mount the solenoid.

Paul

got the same winch on our 78 .....

what David Bowyer doesn't know ain't worth talking about (just make sure you're sitting comfortably if you phone them) :lol:

oh ... echo what Paul says :thumbup: :thumbup:

AFAIK the 12k & 9.5k only differ in gearing, so same motors, drum, casing etc. One goes faster (9.5k) and the other can pull harder (12k). There are differing opinions on here if a 9.5k is enough but for a 90 it might be.

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
Hello all,

Just a little prospecting here.