Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Advice as my LC is absolutely not starting!

jocky

Hello I'm a newbie.
I have a 97 3.0 TD manual Colorado, which won't start.
I've just bought it and it was running well.
It wouldn't start last night and it wasn't like normal, when you can try a few times and it just won't fire. This time it briefly made a noise and then nothing. Initially I thought it must be the batteries as they are mismatched and one looks pretty ropey. So I took it out swapped things over and still nothing. Checked online and realized I need both batteries in for it to go at all, doubled checked still nothing! So I gave up and went to bed. :sleeping-sleep:
This morning I woke up convinced I'd need to replace one or both batteries (ouch), but I checked them and they both seemed to have a good charge over 12.5v.
So I had a look at the fuse box as I am getting no lights in the cab, apart from the door open one. Anyway I discovered the blue 100 amp fuse to the Alt(ernator?) had blown and wouldn't come out (neither would any of the neighboring ones either?). When the fuse was bridged with a spanner I got all lights on electrics in the cab, but when I tried to start it all I got was a click click click.

So my questions are:

What is that blue 100 amp fuse called and where can I get them? (As Roughtrax only had an 80 amp when I phoned.)

Does it sound like when I get a fuse, my starter motor is really going to turn out to be the problem?

If so is there any way to get it going without having to bite the bullet and buying a new one? (or a second hand one?)

I've just bought a service kit, and a cambelt kit and a few other parts, so having to buy a starter motor as well will be painful!!
But on the upside when it was running I was loving it!! :dance:

Thanks,
jocky