Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Hi Ladies & Gents

NMR

Hi Guys.

I’m Nick

Need some advice/opinions as i am after a Land Cruiser. I have done some research and found out about all the different sorts but still unsure as to which would be best suited to me.

I work all over Europe as an Adventurous Training instructor so i spend winters in the Alps, summers in Bavarian mountains/Scottish Highlands/South of France or Italy Diving etc. So as you can see i need a fairly versatile vehicle equipped for adventures. i carry mountaineering gear, diving stuff, ski’s you name it. And i do LOTS of miles around Europe. I currently have a big Volvo which is great at carrying gear and eats up the miles, but it get stuck in snow, it gets hammered, stuck and broken on mountain tracks and is now falling to pieces... and i feel sorry for it!

Hence a Land Cruiser.

It needs to be able to carry me and all of that kit.
It needs to be reliable as i’m not a mechanic.
I don’t own shares in a Petroleum company so economy would be nice.
Must be tough as the tracks i drive sometimes are ROUGH.
Needs to be able to handle deep snow.
Must be nice to drive on Autoroutes as i spend hours on them.

I’m erring towards a 90 series, which if i’m not mistaken is a Colorado here in UK, they appear to be a bargain at the moment and as far as i can gather are big, tough, good off road, not too expensive to run etc.

I see some note just a 3 litre TD and some the D4D, not sure on the differences on that?

However i am open to opinions on all series. A suitable vehicle or not?

Rgds

Nick

Hi Nick

Firstly welcome to the forum.
Secondly, i want your job.
and thirdly..

Yes a 90 Series will be fine. In fact it wouldn't even break out in a sweat. Difference between 3.0TD and the D4D? Well if you can afford one i'd go for the D4D as it's more powerful, more economical and quieter. Not that there's anything wrong with the 3.0TD (I have both!).