Dash mounted volt meter

clivehorridge

Guru
Garage
Country Flag
romania
Yesterday, I left my 80's lights on all day. o_O

What a dumb-ass...:icon-cry:

Dead as a dodo, so A quick phone call to my helper in work and he arrived in a flash and towed me (started on barely a roll in 2nd as I imagined it would :thumbup:).

Ok, looked at the volt meter gauge thingy, and it was showing an estimated 10 volts or something, so hard to tell with the 80's hit-and-miss gauges.

So I'm thinking whether to get a voltmeter, when I suddenly remembered Chas very kindly gave me one as a pressie when he came to visit last August.

I never got round to fitting it because I couldn't see a suitable place to put it. So today, I studied the location options with added impetus.

OK, on my old European spec LHD 80, the Centre of the dash looks something like this... Jeez, these pics are fuzzy, sorry...

image.jpeg

Theres one blank switch space but that's reserved for a double USB socket. The complete mess of 3 cigarette lighter sockets on the left is going, and not soon enough.

The voltage display is marginably bigger than the Carling apeture, and it's a neat flush mount, so nowhere in the center portion of the dash looked suitable.

So, straight ahead...?

image.jpeg

Not many options here either. All mounded plastic, curved surfaces, nothing suitable for a flat flush mount. The last pic also shows the switch panel on the left of the steering column, that's full too, and that vertical blank will also get a double USB socket soon.

So, I thought about the door switch panel. It's not in my driving sight-line, but for a volt meter, that's not necessary.

Off with the door card, off with the switch panel and the surround, some drilling, hacksawing, filing, and in it popped. Bingo. Cleaned everything, dirty switches and that gunky stuff that gets trapped in recesses and you can't get at it, all cleaned up and looking OK IMO.
image.jpeg

Just need to wire it up now.